Francis Bacon

Pope

Bacon Personnage Brooklyn Museum 1500 - © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
  • Francis Bacon
  • Pope
  • 1955-1956
  • Oil on canvas
  • 195.9 x 140 cm
  • Gift of Olga H. Knoepke, 81.306 - © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016

During the 1950s, Francis Bacon extended his use of religious motifs

‒ such as the crucifixion of Jesus—to such paintings as Pope (1955–56) that revisit historical portraits of the Catholic papacy. One inspiration is Portrait of Pope Innocent X (1650) by the Spanish Renaissance painter Diego Velázquez (c. 1599–1660), from which Bacon painted several studies throughout the 1950s and early 60s. Capped, robed, and enthroned, in Bacon’s hands papal figures become grotesque, encaged, and violent—seemingly wracked with pain and horror while snarling in threat. An unfinished work that Bacon had cast off as a failure, Pope is nevertheless brutal and vibrant. Here, confident, angular, lines oppose painterly forms that seem to have been ground into the surface. Set against a dark blue-black ground, the seated half-figure seems trapped in a geometric framework, another motif in Bacon’s work. As the the subject looks out into the unknown, his arms are braced against the throne, as if anticipating sudden movement.

Like Bacon’s earlier paintings of the crucifixion, this abstracted religious portrait offers no prospect of redemption or hope. Emerging from Bacon’s profoundly atheist viewpoint, this portrait savages all religious caretakers, leaders, and profiteers. In the wake of World War II and the horrific violence that both fascists and revolutionaries had spread across the world, Bacon’s besotted, neurotic, and snarling religious figures suggest that those in power are capable of wreaking absolute social havoc. In Bacon’s hands, the pope epitomizes both the power of despots and the horror of the collective.

Gemma Sharpe

Biography of Francis Bacon

  • Born 1909 in Dublin, Ireland
  • Died 1992 in Madrid, Spain
Francis Bacon, a self-taught artist, became a leading figurative painter of the postwar era. In 1927 he visited Berlin and Paris, where he was inspired by the work of Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665) and Pablo Picasso (1881–1973). He created his first artworks that year, attending the free European Academies in Paris. Late in 1928 or early in 1929 Bacon settled in London and started a short career as an interior decorator and furniture designer. Nearly a decade later he was included in the 1937 exhibition Young British Painters at Thomas Agnew & Sons, along with artists such as Graham Sutherland (1903–1980). His breakthrough came in 1944 with the triptych Three Studies for Figures at the Base of a Crucifixion, widely considered his first mature work. Bacon would go on to paint distorted human figures and scenes that evoke alienation, violence and suffering. Throughout his career Bacon worked in sequences and created variations on motifs. He drew on both Christian and mythological themes and found inspiration in the works of other artists, such as Diego Velázquez (1599–1660) and photographer Eadweard Muybridge (1830–1904). His first major retrospective was held at Tate Gallery, London, in 1962

Francis Bacon

Pope (Papst)

Bacon Personnage Brooklyn Museum 1500 - © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
  • Francis Bacon
  • Pope (Papst)
  • 1955-1956
  • Öl auf Leinwand
  • 195,9 x 140 cm
  • Gift of Olga H. Knoepke, 81.306 - © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016

In den 1950er-Jahren weitete Francis Bacon seine Verwendung religiöser Motive, etwa die Kreuzigung Jesu, auf Gemälde wie Pope (Papst) (1955–1956) aus, die sich auf historische Porträts des katholischen Papsttums beziehen. Eine seiner Inspirationsquellen war das Porträt von Papst Innozenz X. (1650) des spanischen Renaissancemalers Diego Velázquez (um 1599–1660), auf dessen Grundlage Bacon während der 1950er und frühen 1960er-Jahre mehrere Studien malte. Bekrönt, vornehm gekleidet und auf einem Thron sitzend werden Päpste in Bacons Händen zu grotesken, eingesperrten, gewalttätigen Wesen – offenkundig von Leid und Grauen zerrüttete menschliche Wracks, die bedrohlich die Zähne fletschen. Pope, ein unvollendetes Werk, zeugt, obwohl Bacon es selbst für gescheitert hielt, von einer ebenso brutalen wie lebenssprühenden Energie. Souveräne, kantige Linien kontrastieren hier mit malerischen Formen, die wirken, als seien sie in die Bildoberfläche hineingerieben worden. Vor einem dunklen, blauschwarzen Hintergrund scheint die sitzende Halbfigur in einem geometrischen Gefüge gefangen zu sein, das ein weiteres häufiges Motiv in Bacons Werk darstellt. Die ins Unbekannte starrende Figur stemmt sich mit den Armen gegen denThron, als erwarte sie eine plötzliche Bewegung.

Wie schon Bacons frühere Gemälde bietet auch dieses abstrahierte religiöse Porträt keine Aussicht auf Erlösung oder Hoffnung. Dieses Bildnis, das Bacons zutiefst atheistischer Weltsicht entstammt, fällt schonungslos über alle religiösen Sachwalter, Führer und Profiteure her. In der Folge des Zweiten Weltkriegs und der schrecklichen Gewalt, die Faschisten wie Revolutionäre in der Welt verbreitet haben, legen Bacons verdummte, neurotische und wütend fauchende religiöse Gestalten den Gedanken nahe, dass Machthaber allemal imstande sind, einen verheerenden gesellschaftlichen Schaden anzurichten. In Bacons Händen verkörpert der Papst sowohl die Macht von Despoten als auch das Grauen des Kollektivs.

Gemma Sharpe

Biografie von Francis Bacon

  • Geboren 1909 in Dublin, Irland
  • Gestorben 1992 in Madrid, Spanien

Der Autodidakt Francis Bacon entwickelte sich zu einem der führenden gegenständlichen Maler der Nachkriegszeit. 1927 reiste er nach Berlin und Paris, wo ihn die Werke von Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665) und Pablo Picasso (1881–1973) inspirierten. In Paris besuchte er die freien Akademien. Dort schuf er im selben Jahr auch seine ersten Kunstwerke. Ende 1928 oder Anfang 1929 übersiedelte er nach London und arbeitete kurzzeitig als Innenarchitekt und Möbeldesigner. Knapp ein Jahrzehnt später, 1937, wurden seine Arbeiten in der Gruppenausstellung Young British Painters in der Galerie Thomas Agnew & Sons neben Werken von Künstlern wie Graham Sutherland (1903–1980) gezeigt. Seinen Durchbruch erlebte Bacon 1944 mit dem Triptychon Three Studies for Figures at the Base of a Crucifixion, das allgemein als sein erstes reifes Werk gilt. Auch in der Folgezeit malte der Künstler verzerrte menschliche Figuren und Szenen, die Entfremdung, Gewalt und Leid evozieren. Reihen und Variationen von Motiven sind kennzeichnend für Bacons gesamtes Schaffen. Dabei schöpfte er gleichermaßen aus christlichen wie mythologischen Themen und ließ sich von den Werken anderer Künstler, etwa denen des Malers Diego Velázquez (1599–1660) oder des Fotografen Eadweard Muybridge (1830–1904), inspirieren. Seine erste große Retrospektive wurde 1962 in der Londoner Tate Gallery gezeigt.