Francis Bacon

Fragment of a Crucifixion

Bacon Fragment Of A Crucifixion Van Abbe Museum 1500 - © © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016. Photo: Peter Cox, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Francis Bacon
  • Fragment of a Crucifixion
  • 1950
  • Oil, cotton wool on canvas
  • 158.4 x 127.4 x 9 cm
  • Collection Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven - © © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016. Photo: Peter Cox, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Beyond the blood-red color, the paint-scraped canvas, and the distorted bodies, it is the screaming mouth at the center of Fragment of a Crucifixion (1950) that affirms its absolute horror. Inspired by medical textbooks and the image of a screaming blood-covered nurse from Sergei Eisenstein’s film The Battleship Potemkin (1925), the scream motif recurs often in Francis Bacon’s work. As philosopher Gilles Deleuze (1925–1995) once remarked, from Bacon’s screams “the entire body escapes through the mouth.” Bacon favored the tangled geometry that distorts perspective from foreground to background. Here, the screaming figure seems suspended over a white geometric cage that projects into the viewer’s space. Another body recedes into the dark, truncated cross shape behind it, and a third mass of bloodied flesh hangs from the crossbar.

Bacon painted many distorted and near-blasphemous representations of the crucifixion, beginning with Three Studies for Figures at the Base of a Crucifixion (1944). His religious icons, emerging from a manifestly atheist standpoint, refuse the possibility of hope or redemption. The abject hopelessness of Bacon’s crucifixion imagery is especially significant because it is impossible to detach it from the wartime horrors of the previous decades: The screaming figure, together with the ambiguous array of stick-figures and cars along the horizon, pull the work away from a straightforward recapitulation of ancient religious iconography and into postwar modernity.

Gemma Sharpe

Biography of Francis Bacon

  • Born 1909 in Dublin, Ireland
  • Died 1992 in Madrid, Spain
Francis Bacon, a self-taught artist, became a leading figurative painter of the postwar era. In 1927 he visited Berlin and Paris, where he was inspired by the work of Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665) and Pablo Picasso (1881–1973). He created his first artworks that year, attending the free European Academies in Paris. Late in 1928 or early in 1929 Bacon settled in London and started a short career as an interior decorator and furniture designer. Nearly a decade later he was included in the 1937 exhibition Young British Painters at Thomas Agnew & Sons, along with artists such as Graham Sutherland (1903–1980). His breakthrough came in 1944 with the triptych Three Studies for Figures at the Base of a Crucifixion, widely considered his first mature work. Bacon would go on to paint distorted human figures and scenes that evoke alienation, violence and suffering. Throughout his career Bacon worked in sequences and created variations on motifs. He drew on both Christian and mythological themes and found inspiration in the works of other artists, such as Diego Velázquez (1599–1660) and photographer Eadweard Muybridge (1830–1904). His first major retrospective was held at Tate Gallery, London, in 1962

More artworks by Francis Bacon in the exhibition

Bacon Personnage Brooklyn Museum 1500 - © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
Francis Bacon
Pope, 1955-1956
Gift of Olga H. Knoepke, 81.306

Francis Bacon

Fragment of a Crucifixion (Fragment einer Kreuzigung)

Bacon Fragment Of A Crucifixion Van Abbe Museum 1500 - © © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016. Photo: Peter Cox, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Francis Bacon
  • Fragment of a Crucifixion (Fragment einer Kreuzigung)
  • 1950
  • Öl, Watte auf Leinwand
  • 158,4 x 127,4 x 9 cm
  • Collection Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven - © © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016. Photo: Peter Cox, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Neben dem blutroten Farbton, den übrigen, auf die Leinwand geschabten Farben und den entstellten Körpern bringt vor allem der schreiende Mund in der Bildmitte das absolute Grauen zum Ausdruck, welches in Fragment of a Crucifixion (1950) herrscht. Das von medizinischen Lehrbüchern und dem Motiv einer schreienden, blutbefleckten Schwester aus Sergej Eisensteins Film Panzerkreuzer Potemkin (1925) inspirierte Motiv des Schreis kommt in Francis Bacons Œuvre immer wieder vor. Wie der Philosoph Gilles Deleuze (1925‒1995) einmal sagte, »entflieht« bei Bacons Schreien »der ganze Körper durch den Mund«. Bacon bevorzugte die durcheinandergeratene Geometrie, bei der die Perspektive von Vorder- und Hintergrund verzerrt wird. Hier scheint die schreiende Figur über einem weißen, geometrischen Käfig zu hängen, der in den Raum des Betrachters hereinragt. Ein weiterer Körper scheint in die dunkle, gestutzte Kreuzform dahinter zurückzuweichen, und eine dritte Masse blutigen Fleisches hängt vom Querholz des Kreuzes herab.

Beginnend mit Three Studies for Figures at the Base of a Crucifixion (Drei Studien für Figuren am Fuß einer Kreuzigung) (1944) malte Bacon viele verzerrte, ja nahezu blasphemische Darstellungen der Kreuzigung. Seine religiösen Ikonen, die einem dezidiert atheistischen Standpunkt entspringen, verweigern sich der Möglichkeit von Hoffnung oder Erlösung. Die erbärmliche Hoffnungslosigkeit von Bacons Kreuzigungsmotiven ist besonders signifikant, da sie sich nicht von den Kriegsgräueln der vorausgegangenen Jahrzehnte trennen lässt. Die schreiende Figur und das mehrdeutige Aufgebot von Strichmännchen und Autos am Horizont deuten an, dass es sich bei diesem Werk nicht um eine direkte Wiederaufnahme der traditionellen religiösen Ikonografie handelt, sondern um deren Verschiebung in die Nachkriegsmoderne.

Gemma Sharpe

Biografie von Francis Bacon

  • Geboren 1909 in Dublin, Irland
  • Gestorben 1992 in Madrid, Spanien

Der Autodidakt Francis Bacon entwickelte sich zu einem der führenden gegenständlichen Maler der Nachkriegszeit. 1927 reiste er nach Berlin und Paris, wo ihn die Werke von Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665) und Pablo Picasso (1881–1973) inspirierten. In Paris besuchte er die freien Akademien. Dort schuf er im selben Jahr auch seine ersten Kunstwerke. Ende 1928 oder Anfang 1929 übersiedelte er nach London und arbeitete kurzzeitig als Innenarchitekt und Möbeldesigner. Knapp ein Jahrzehnt später, 1937, wurden seine Arbeiten in der Gruppenausstellung Young British Painters in der Galerie Thomas Agnew & Sons neben Werken von Künstlern wie Graham Sutherland (1903–1980) gezeigt. Seinen Durchbruch erlebte Bacon 1944 mit dem Triptychon Three Studies for Figures at the Base of a Crucifixion, das allgemein als sein erstes reifes Werk gilt. Auch in der Folgezeit malte der Künstler verzerrte menschliche Figuren und Szenen, die Entfremdung, Gewalt und Leid evozieren. Reihen und Variationen von Motiven sind kennzeichnend für Bacons gesamtes Schaffen. Dabei schöpfte er gleichermaßen aus christlichen wie mythologischen Themen und ließ sich von den Werken anderer Künstler, etwa denen des Malers Diego Velázquez (1599–1660) oder des Fotografen Eadweard Muybridge (1830–1904), inspirieren. Seine erste große Retrospektive wurde 1962 in der Londoner Tate Gallery gezeigt.

Mehr Werke von Francis Bacon in der Ausstellung

Bacon Personnage Brooklyn Museum 1500 - © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All Rights Reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
Francis Bacon
Pope (Papst), 1955-1956
Gift of Olga H. Knoepke, 81.306