Lynn Hershman Leeson

Breathing Machine

Hershman Leeson Breathing Machine Collection Of The Artist 1500 - © Lynn Hershman Leeson. Photo: Dejan Saric
  • Lynn Hershman Leeson
  • Breathing Machine
  • 1965
  • Plexiglas on wood, sound, sensors, wax, cast face, wig, make-up
  • 32 × 42 × 42 cm
  • Courtesy the Artist and Bridget Donahue, NYC - © Lynn Hershman Leeson. Photo: Dejan Saric

Lynn Hershman Leeson’s art explores the personal and social consequences of scientific advances, particularly the discovery of DNA’s double-helix structure in 1953, marking the birth of modern molecular biology. The process of copying via casting is an ancient artistic technique, but in the 1960s it took on new resonance with the increasing overlap between body, machine, and technology. Cloning, which had previously been a mere fantasy, became a theoretical possibility, a topic Hershman Leeson explored extensively.

Breathing Machine (1965), and Caged Woman (1965), are both wax casts of the artist’s own face. The wigs indicate the faces as women and emphasize the performative aspect of femininity, an important theme in Hershman Leeson’s work. In the early years of her career, Hershman Leeson cast a series of wax body parts, which she dressed and staged in a variety of forms. Breathing Machine, originally housed in an astronaut-like glass bubble, sighed and coughed when viewers approached. Caged Woman houses another iteration of the wax mask and plays voice via tape recording. The sinister implications of technology’s increasing purview over the body are evident in Hershman Leeson’s creations. Trapped both literally (inside containers) and figuratively (by recording devices), the artist’s own body loses autonomy through mediation. Breathing Machine and Caged Woman anticipated recurring themes in her work, including the transformation of identity, relationship of body to machine, and the acting out of gender roles.

Megan Hines

Biography of Lynn Hershman Leeson

  • Born 1941 in Cleveland, OH, USA
Artist and filmmaker Lynn Hershman Leeson studied at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland and at the San Francisco State University, where she earned her MFA degree. She works cross-media, often creating interactive works in photography, video, film, installation, performance, and Internet-based media. Her work integrates art with social commentary and technology. Hershman is also regarded as a strong voice within the feminist movement. Questions of (constructed) identity, privacy, surveillance, and the relationship between real and virtual worlds as well as between humans and machines are constantly addressed in her body of work. She is probably best known for her series centered on the fictional character Roberta Breitmore (1973–78). In her later work she continued to pioneer new media art: her video Lorna (1979–1983) was the first interactive videodisc and she was the first to use touch-activated screens for Deep Contact: The Sexual Fantasy Videodisk (1984–86).

Lynn Hershman Leeson

Breathing Machine (Atemmaschine)

Hershman Leeson Breathing Machine Collection Of The Artist 1500 - © Lynn Hershman Leeson. Photo: Dejan Saric
  • Lynn Hershman Leeson
  • Breathing Machine (Atemmaschine)
  • 1965
  • Plexiglas auf Holz, Klang, Sensoren, Wachs, Gesichtsmaske, Perücke, Make-up
  • Courtesy the Artist and Bridget Donahue, NYC - © Lynn Hershman Leeson. Photo: Dejan Saric

Lynn Hershman Leeson untersucht in ihrer Kunst die persönlichen und gesellschaftlichen Folgen naturwissenschaftlicher Fortschritte, insbesondere die Entdeckung der Doppelhelixstruktur der DNS im Jahr 1953. Der Prozess des Kopierens mithilfe von Abgüssen ist eine alte künstlerische Technik, doch in den 1960ern erlangte sie mit der zunehmenden Überschneidung von Körper, Maschine und Technologie eine neue Dimension. Das Klonen, das zuvor eine bloße Fantasie gewesen war, wurde eine reale theoretische Möglichkeit – ein Thema, mit dem sich Hershman Leeson ausführlich beschäftigt hat.

Breathing Machine (1965) und Caged Woman (1965) sind beides Wachsabgüsse des eigenen Gesichts der Künstlerin. Die Perücken identifizieren die Gesichter als die von Frauen und betonen den performativen Aspekt von Weiblichkeit, ein wichtiges Thema in Hershman Leesons Werk. In den ersten Jahren ihrer Karriere goss die Künstlerin eine Serie von Körperteilen in Wachs ab, die sie auf unterschiedliche Weise einkleidete und in Szene setzte. Breathing Machine, das sich ursprünglich in einer an Astronauten erinnernden Glasblase befand, seufzte und keuchte, sobald sich Betrachter näherten. Bei Caged Woman handelt es sich um eine weitere Variation der Wachsmaske, zu der eine Tonbandstimme abgespielt wird. Hershman Leesons Schöpfungen verweisen auf die düsteren Begleiterscheinungen des Umstands, dass Technologie sich zunehmend unserer Körper bemächtigt. Gefangen sowohl im buchstäblichen Sinne (in Behältnissen) als auch im übertragenen (in Aufzeichnungsmedien), verliert der Körper der Künstlerin durch die Mediation seine Unabhängigkeit. Breathing Machine und Caged Woman sind frühe Beispiele für wiederkehrende Themen in Hershman Leesons Werk, darunter die Transformation der Identität, das Verhältnis von Körper und Maschine sowie das Ausagieren sozialer Geschlechterrollen.

Megan Hines

Biografie von Lynn Hershman Leeson

  • Geboren 1941 in Cleveland, OH, USA

Die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Lynn Hershman Leeson studierte an der Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland und an der San Francisco State University, wo sie einen MFA erhielt. In ihrem Crossmedia-Ansatz entstehen meist interaktive Arbeiten, die Fotografie, Video, Film, Installation, Performance und internetbasierte Medien miteinander vereinen. Ihr Werk verknüpft Kunst mit Kommentaren zu gesellschaftlichen Themen und Technologie. Hershman gilt zudem als wichtige Stimme der feministischen Bewegung und widmet sich immer wieder Fragen zu (konstruierter) Identität, Datenschutz, Überwachung und der Beziehung zwischen realen und virtuellen Welten sowie zwischen Menschen und Maschinen. Am bekanntesten ist vermutlich ihre Serie rund um die fiktive Figur Roberta Breitmore (1973–1978). In ihren jüngeren Arbeiten erwies sie sich als Pionierin moderner Medienkunst: LORNA (1979–1983) war das erste interaktive Videoprojekt. In Deep Contact: The Sexual Fantasy Videodisk (1984–1986) setzte sie als erste Künstlerin berührungsaktive Bildschirme ein.