Gertrud Louise Goldschmidt

Vibración en negro (Vibration in Black)

Gego Vibracion En Negro Mfa Houston 1500 - © n Gego. Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, Texas, USA.
  • Gertrud Louise Goldschmidt
  • Vibración en negro (Vibration in Black)
  • 1957
  • Aluminum painted black
  • 75 x 60 x 43 cm
  • Fundacion Gego Collection at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston/Bridgeman Images - © n Gego. Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, Texas, USA.

Gertrud Goldschmidt, professionally known as Gego, came to the fine arts later in life. After studying architecture in her native Germany, she was forced by the rise of National Socialism to immigrate to Venezuela because of her Jewish heritage. There Gego completed her first works of art, a series of delicate drawings and prints. In the midst of a Venezuelan art scene where artists such as Jesús Rafael Soto were experimenting with the creation of optical illusions in three-dimensional space, Gego soon turned her attention to sculpture.

Vibración en negro (1957), one of Gego’s first sculptures, was created after a trip to Europe during 1955 and 1956. During her travels she visited a number of galleries and museums in West Germany, Switzerland, and Britain. It seems she was particularly fascinated by Max Bill’s Endless Ribbon (1935), a sculptural interpretation of the Möbius strip, a twisted band that has only one side and thus possesses the mathematical property of being non-orientable. After her return to Caracas, Gego coupled her interest in Bill’s work with the kinetic experiments of her Venezuelan peers to create Vibración en negro, a hanging sculpture constructed from continuous strips of painted aluminium. Suspended delicately from the ceiling, the work begins to rotate when the movements of the viewer induce air currents. As they rotate, the network of lines shifts continuously, creating a shimmering effect or, as the title suggests, a visual vibration.

Daniel Milnes

Biography of Gertrud Louise Goldschmidt

  • Born 1912 in Hamburg, Germany
  • Died 1994 in Caracas, Venezuela
Gego was an artist and sculptor whose work peaked in the 1960s with geometric abstraction and kinetic art. After studying engineering and architecture at the Hochschule für Technik (University of Applied Sciences) Stuttgart (1932–38), she fled Germany in 1939 and moved to Venezuela, where she worked as an architect and furniture designer during the 1940s. In 1956, in Caracas, she created her first three-dimensional works. Between 1959 and 1967 she visited the United States to participate in various workshops (Treitel-Gratz metal fabricators, New York) and to experiment in lithography and other mediums. Her watercolors, spatial installations, engravings, and paper weavings—which use line as the fundamental element—reveal her investigations into structure, space, transparency, and viewer interaction. While her works made between 1957 and 1969 were based on equidistant, parallel lines, her “Reticuláreas” (Networks), “Troncos” (Trunks), and “Esferas” (Spheres) consist of crossed lines creating net-like structures. From 1976 onward she abandoned preconceived concepts in her series “Dibujos sin Papel” (Drawings without Paper) and “Bichitos” (Small Bugs). From 1958 to 1977 Gego committed herself to teaching. In 1979 she received the Premio Nacional de Artes Plásticas de Venezuela.

Gertrud Louise Goldschmidt

Vibración en negro (Vibration in Schwarz)

Gego Vibracion En Negro Mfa Houston 1500 - © Fundación Gego. Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, Texas, USA.
  • Gertrud Louise Goldschmidt
  • Vibración en negro (Vibration in Schwarz)
  • 1957
  • Aluminium schwarz lackiert
  • 75 x 60 x 43 cm
  • Fundacion Gego Collection at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston/Bridgeman Images - © Fundación Gego. Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, Texas, USA.

Gertrud Goldschmidt, Pseudonym Gego, fand erst in ihrem späteren Leben zur Kunst. Nachdem sie in ihrer deutschen Heimat Architektur studiert hatte, war sie infolge der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten aufgrund ihrer jüdischen Herkunft gezwungen, nach Venezuela auszuwandern. Dort vollendete Gego ihre ersten Kunstwerke, eine Serie zarter Zeichnungen und Druckgrafiken. Innerhalb der venezuelanischen Kunstszene, wo Künstler wie Jesús Rafael Soto mit der Erzeugung optischer Illusionen im dreidimensionalen Raum experimentierten, wandte Gego ihre Aufmerksamkeit schon bald der Skulptur zu.

Vibración en negro (1957), eine von Gegos ersten Skulpturen, entstand nach einer Europareise 1955 und 1956. Während ihrer Reisen besuchte sie eine Reihe von Galerien und Museen in Westdeutschland, der Schweiz und Großbritannien. Besonders fasziniert war sie offenbar von Max Bills Werk Unendliche Schleife (1935), einer skulpturalen Interpretation des Möbiusbandes, einer verdrehten Schleife, die nur eine Seite hat und daher die mathematische Eigenschaft besitzt, nicht orientierbar zu sein. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Caracas kombinierte Gego ihr Interesse an Bills Werken mit den kinetischen Experimenten ihrer venezuelanischen Kollegen und schuf Vibración en negro, eine Hängeskulptur aus kontinuierlichen, bemalten Aluminiumstreifen. Dieses grazil von der Decke herabhängende Werk beginnt sich zu drehen, sobald die Bewegungen der Betrachter Luftströme erzeugen. Wenn sich die Linien drehen, verschiebt sich ihr Netzwerk unaufhörlich und erzeugt so einen schimmernden Effekt oder, wie es der Titel nahelegt, eine visuelle Schwingung.

Daniel Milnes

Biografie von Gertrud Louise Goldschmidt

  • Geboren 1912 in Hamburg, Deutschland
  • Gestorben 1994 in Caracas, Venezuela

Die Künstlerin und Bildhauerin Gego wurde vor allem in den 1960er-Jahren mit geometrischen Abstraktionen und kinetischer Kunst bekannt. Nach einem Ingenieurs- und Architekturstudium an der Hochschule für Technik in Stuttgart (1932–1938) floh sie 1939 aus Deutschland und ließ sich in Venezuela nieder, wo sie in den 1940er-Jahren als Architektin und Möbeldesignerin tätig war. 1956 entstanden in Caracas ihre ersten dreidimensionalen Arbeiten. Zwischen 1959 und 1967 reiste sie mehrmals in die Vereinigten Staaten, arbeitete dort in verschiedenen Werkstätten (u.a. Treitel-Gratz Metallatelier, New York) und experimentierte mit Lithografie und anderen Medien. Ihre Aquarelle, Rauminstallationen, Stiche und Papierwebereien – mit der Linie als Grundelement – belegen ihre Erforschung von Struktur, Raum, Transparenz und Interaktion mit dem Betrachter. Während die Werke aus den Jahren 1957 bis 1969 vor allem auf gleichmäßig entfernten, parallelen Linien basierten, bestehen ihre Reticuláreas (Netzwerke), Troncos (Rumpfe) und Esferas (Kugeln) aus sich kreuzenden Linien, die netzartige Strukturen ergeben. Ab 1976 löste sie sich in der Serie Dibujos sin Papel (Zeichnungen ohne Papier) und Bichitos (Kleine Käfer) von vorgefassten Konzepten. 1958 bis 1977 war Gego vor allem in der Lehre tätig. 1979 wurde sie mit dem Premio Nacional de Artes Plásticas de Venezuela ausgezeichnet.