Frank Auerbach

Shell Building Site

Auerbach Shell Building Site Hartlepool Museums And Heritage Services 1500 - © 2016 Frank Auerbach. Image reproduced with the permission of the Museum of Hartlepool, copyright Hartlepool Borough Council
  • Frank Auerbach
  • Shell Building Site
  • 1959
  • Oil on board
  • 122 x 154 cm
  • Hartlepool Borough Council - © 2016 Frank Auerbach. Image reproduced with the permission of the Museum of Hartlepool, copyright Hartlepool Borough Council

Considered a central figure in the School of London, Frank Auerbach has lived and worked most of his life in Camden Town, London, and often paints subjects near his studio. Auerbach’s paintings have never been entirely abstract but are always grounded in reality.

Shell Building Site (1959) depicts the construction area for the Shell company building on the south bank of the river Thames. Fascinated by the excavations for what would become London’s first skyscraper, Auerbach made numerous preliminary sketches on site before starting to paint in layers of thick impasto, losing some details while preserving others. At first glance the viewer sees merely basic, primal forms, but upon closer examination cranes, scaffolding, foundation, and even figures of workmen emerge. Culminating in the background, the groundwork of the tower building reveals itself as the brightest spot in the composition.

The Shell construction site was established in 1956, after the ruins left by the wartime Blitz were cleared and the ground lay flattened. Auerbach saw London as a great city struggling to rebuild itself bigger and stronger by first having to deconstruct itself, a process that paralleled his own artistic efforts in the struggle for a representational style. To Auerbach, the excavations in the center of London, with their considerable earthworks, were far from being simple construction sites. In this painting, the rough, excavated earth stands for the destruction needed to build anew, equal to the artist’s need to paint his works from base layer to surface in order to achieve the intended degree of representational detail.

Petronela Soltész

Biography of Frank Auerbach

  • Born 1931 in Berlin, Germany

Frank Auerbach was sent to England by his parents in 1939 to escape Nazi persecution of Jewish people in Germany. His parents died in a concentration camp. From 1947 to 1953 he attended the evening painting class of David Bomberg (1890–1957) at Borough Polytechnic in London, where he met Leon Kossoff (b. 1926). He first studied at London’s St Martin's School of Art from 1948 to 1952, and afterwards at the Royal College of Art until 1955. Auerbach taught at several institutions, including secondary schools and the Slade School of Fine Art in London. He lived and worked most of his life in Camden Town, London and repeatedly returned to the people and urban landscapes near his studio. Auerbach’s paintings were never entirely abstract but were always grounded in his close reality. He is known for his thick impasto technique, as well as for his painstaking attempts to achieve the image he wants. He sometimes scraped his canvases dozens of times before realizing a finished work. Auerbach is considered a central figure of the so-called School of London alongside artists such as Francis Bacon (1909–1992) and Lucian Freud (1922–2011). In 1986 he represented Britain at the Venice Biennale and was awarded, with Sigmar Polke (1941–2010), the Golden Lion prize.

Frank Auerbach

Shell Building Site (Shell-Baustelle)

Auerbach Shell Building Site Hartlepool Museums And Heritage Services 1500 - © 2016 Frank Auerbach. Image reproduced with the permission of the Museum of Hartlepool, copyright Hartlepool Borough Council
  • Frank Auerbach
  • Shell Building Site (Shell-Baustelle)
  • 1959
  • Öl auf Holztafel
  • 122 x 154 cm
  • Hartlepool Borough Council - © 2016 Frank Auerbach. Image reproduced with the permission of the Museum of Hartlepool, copyright Hartlepool Borough Council

Frank Auerbach, der als zentrale Figur der Londoner Schule gilt, lebte und arbeitete den größten Teil seines Lebens im Londoner Stadtteil Camden Town. Die Sujets seiner Bilder findet er häufig in der Nähe seines Ateliers. Auerbachs Gemälde waren nie vollkommen abstrakt, sondern haben stets einen Bezug zur Realität.

Das Bild Shell Building Site (1959) zeigt das Baugelände des am Südufer der Themse gelegenen Shell-Firmengebäudes. Fasziniert von den Aushubarbeiten für den ersten Wolkenkratzer Londons, fertigte der Künstler vor Ort eine Reihe von Skizzen an, bevor er begann, sie in dicken Farbschichten auf die Leinwand zu übertragen – eine Vorgehensweise, bei der das ein oder andere Detail zum Opfer fiel, manches andere jedoch erhalten blieb. Auf den ersten Blick nimmt der Betrachter lediglich einfache Grundformen wahr, doch bei genauerer Betrachtung werden Kräne, Baugerüste, das Fundament und sogar die Figuren von Arbeitern sichtbar. Den hellsten Punkt der Komposition bildet das im Hintergrund aufragende Fundament des Hochhauses.

Die Bauarbeiten für das Shell-Gebäude begannen 1956, nachdem man die Ruinen, eine Hinterlassenschaft der Bombenangriffe durch die deutsche Luftwaffe, abgerissen hatte und das Gelände brach lag. Für Auerbach war London eine Großstadt, die alle Kräfte für den Wiederaufbau mobilisierte – ein Wiederaufbau, der sie noch größer und potenter machen sollte und für den es sich zunächst einmal selbst zu demontieren galt. Ein Prozess, der Auerbachs eigenem, künstlerischen Bemühen um einen gegenständlichen Stil nicht unähnlich war. Für ihn waren die Ausschachtungen im Herzen Londons mit ihren umfangreichen Erdarbeiten keineswegs nur einfache Baustellen. In diesem Gemälde symbolisiert die unfertige Baugrube die Zerstörung, die notwendig ist, damit etwas Neues entstehen kann. Genauso wie sich der Künstler bei seinen Werken von der Grundschicht zur Oberfläche vorarbeiten musste, um die gewünschte Detailtreue zu erreichen.

Petronela Soltész

Biografie von Frank Auerbach

  • Geboren 1931 in Berlin, Deutsches Reich

Frank Auerbach ist jüdischer Herkunft und wurde 1939 von seinen Eltern nach England geschickt, damit er nicht Opfer der Judenverfolgung unter den Nazionalsozialisten wurde. Seine Eltern starben im Konzentrationslager. Von 1947 bis 1953 besuchte er am Borough Polytechnic in London Abendkurse bei dem Maler David Bomberg (1890–1957). Dort lernte er Leon Kosoff (* 1926) kennen. Anschließend studierte er zunächst von 1948 bis 1952 an der St Martin’s School of Art und dann bis 1955 am Royal College of Art. Auerbach lehrte an verschiedenen Institutionen, u.a. an weiterführenden Schulen und der Slade School of Fine Art in London. Den größten Teil seines bisherigen (Arbeits-)Lebens hat er im Londoner Stadtteil Camden Town verbracht. Immer wieder kehrte er zu den Menschen und urbanen Landschaften in der Umgebung seines Ateliers zurück. Seine Gemälde waren nie ganz abstrakt, sondern gründeten immer auf seinem unmittelbaren realen Umfeld. Er ist bekannt für seine pastose Maltechnik und sein akribisches Bemühen um Bildergebnisse, die seinen Vorstellungen hundertprozentig entsprechen. Manchmal kratze er seine Leinwände Dutzende Male ab, ehe er ein Werk zu Ende brachte.

Auerbach gilt neben Künstlern wie Francis Bacon (1909–1992) und Lucian Freund (1922–2011) als eine zentrale Figur der sogenannten School of London. 1986 repräsentierte er Großbritannien bei der Biennale von Venedig und wurde zusammen mit Sigmar Polke (1941–2010) mit dem Goldenen Löwen ausgezeichnet.