Leon Golub

L’homme de Palmyre

Golub Lhomme De Palmyre Sammlung Hauser Wirth 1500 - © Estate of Leon Golub/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © The Nancy Spero and Leon Golub Foundation for the Arts.
  • Leon Golub
  • L’homme de Palmyre
  • 1962
  • Lacquer on canvas
  • 199 x 336.5 cm
  • Courtesy the Nancy Spero and Leon Golub Foundation for the Arts and Hauser & Wirth - © Estate of Leon Golub/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © The Nancy Spero and Leon Golub Foundation for the Arts.

By the time five paintings by Leon Golub were included in the exhibition New Images of Man at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, in 1959, Golub had already begun to conceive of representation as a form of political engagement. He painted L’homme de Palmyre (1962) in Paris, where he lived with his family from 1959 to 1964. The figure was inspired by reclining figures, representing spirits of the deceased, carved on tombs outside the ancient Semitic city of Palmyra in the region of Homs, Syria. In contrast, Golub’s figure achieves no repose. Instead, scabbed paint encrusts the enormous body like so many scars. The layers of pigment accreted and removed imply the violence of the palette knives and caustic solvents he used to add and scrape away thick layers of paint.

By disordering an ancient classical form, L’homme de Palmyre shows the figure as a ruin, both scarred and eroded, yet enduring. For viewers who had lived through World War II and still struggled to reconcile their understanding of humanity with the horrors of the Holocaust, L’homme de Palmyre – like the tomb figures on which it was based – can be considered an elegy for the lost possibility of a timeless and venerable human tradition. Isolated on the canvas, simultaneously coherent and dissolving, Golub harnesses the materiality of paint, the monumentality of the figure, and the stillness of the painting to stage a confrontation between the human viewer and a crumbling human ideal.

Amy Rahn

Biography of Leon Golub

  • Born 1922 in Chicago, IL
  • Died 2004 in New York, NY

American painter Leon Golub first studied art history at the University of Chicago, and earned an MFA degree from the Art Institute of Chicago in 1950. During World War II he served as a cartographer in the U.S. Army, mostly stationed in Europe. After the war he worked as a teacher and received some attention for his early artistic work. From 1959 to 1964 he lived in Paris and later moved to New York. In 1959 his work was featured in the New Images of Man exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, among such artists as Willem de Kooning (1904–1997), Francis Bacon (1909–1992), and Jackson Pollock (1912–1956). As an active part of the Vietnam-era peace movement, Golub’s paintings were always engaged with themes of war, human brutality, and power. His large-scale paintings depict human figures and their brutal actions in an expressionistic style. He would scrape paint from the canvas to create a rough, blistered surface. Golub is also known for his portraits, based on photographs of powerful public figures. In 2000 the Dublin Museum of Modern Art honored him with a major retrospective.

Leon Golub

L’homme de Palmyre (Der Mensch aus Palmyra)

Golub Lhomme De Palmyre Sammlung Hauser Wirth 1500 - © Estate of Leon Golub/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © The Nancy Spero and Leon Golub Foundation for the Arts.
  • Leon Golub
  • L’homme de Palmyre (Der Mensch aus Palmyra)
  • 1962
  • Lack auf Leinwand
  • 199 x 336,5 cm
  • Courtesy the Nancy Spero and Leon Golub Foundation for the Arts and Hauser & Wirth. Photo: Alex Delfanne - © Estate of Leon Golub/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © The Nancy Spero and Leon Golub Foundation for the Arts.

Als fünf Gemälde Leon Golubs in die 1959 gezeigte Ausstellung New Images of Man (Neue Bilder vom Menschen) im Museum of Modern Art in New York aufgenommen wurden, hatte der Künstler bereits damit begonnen, Repräsentation als eine Form des politischen Engagements zu begreifen. Er malte L’homme de Palmyre (Der Mensch aus Palmyra) (1962) in Paris, wo er von 1959 bis 1964 mit seiner Familie lebte. Inspiriert wurde die Figur von liegenden, die Geister von Verstorbenen darstellenden Gestalten, deren Reliefs Gräber außerhalb der antiken semitischen Stadt Palmyra in der Gegend von Homs, Syrien, schmücken. Doch im Gegensatz zu diesen findet Golubs Figur keine Ruhe. Vielmehr ist ihr gewaltiger Körper von verschorfter, an Narben erinnernder Farbe überzogen. Die aufgetragenen und entfernten Pigmentschichten implizieren die Gewalt von Palettenmessern und ätzenden Lösungsmitteln, die der Künstler benutzte, um dicke Farbschichten hinzuzufügen oder wegzukratzen.

Mit L’homme de Palmyre zeigt uns Golub eine in Unordnung gebrachte, antike klassische Form ‒ die Figur als Ruine, verunstaltet und erodiert, aber dennoch fortdauernd. Im Hinblick auf Betrachter, die den Zweiten Weltkrieg überlebt hatten und noch immer damit rangen, ihr Verständnis von Humanität mit dem Grauen des Holocaust in Einklang zu bringen, kann man L’homme de Palmyre ebenso wie die Grabfiguren, auf denen das Werk basiert, als eine Elegie auf die verlorenen Möglichkeiten einer zeitlosen und altehrwürdigen menschlichen Tradition betrachten. Isoliert auf der Leinwand, kohärent und zugleich in Auflösung begriffen, macht sich Golub die Materialität der Farbe, die Monumentalität der Figur und die Unbewegtheit des Gemäldes zunutze, um eine Konfrontation zwischen dem menschlichen Betrachter und einem zerbröckelnden menschlichen Ideal zu inszenieren.

Amy Rahn

Biografie von Leon Golub

  • Geboren 1922 in Chicago, Illinois, Vereinigte Staaten
  • Gestorben 2004 in New York, New York, Vereinigte Staaten

Der US-amerikanische Maler Leon Golub studierte Kunstgeschichte an der University of Chicago und erhielt 1950 einen MFA am Art Institute of Chicago. Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs diente er als Kartograf in der US-Armee und war meist in Europa stationiert. Nach dem Krieg arbeitete er als Lehrer und fand mit seinen ersten Kunstwerken Beachtung. Von 1959 bis 1964 lebte Golub in Paris und wechselte anschließend nach New York. 1959 wurde sein Werk auf der Ausstellung New Images of Man im Museum of Modern Art in New York neben Arbeiten von Künstlern wie Willem de Kooning (1904–1997), Francis Bacon (1909–1992) und Jackson Pollock (1912–1956) präsentiert. Als aktiver Gegner der Friedensbewegung während des Vietnamkriegs setzte sich Golub in seinen Malereien stets mit den Themen Krieg, menschliche Grausamkeit und Macht auseinander. Seine großformatigen Gemälde zeigen menschliche Figuren und deren brutale Handlungen in einem expressionistischen Stil. Durch das Abkratzen von Farbe erzielte er eine raue, blasige Oberflächenstruktur. Golub ist zudem für seine Porträts bekannt, die auf der Grundlage von Fotoaufnahmen mächtiger öffentlicher Personen entstanden. Im Jahr 2000 ehrte ihn das Dublin Museum of Modern Art mit einer großen Retrospektive.