Ismail Shammout

Beginning of the Tragedy

Shammout Beginning Of The Tragedy Yadiz Shammout 1500 - © Shammout Family
  • Ismail Shammout
  • Beginning of the Tragedy
  • 1953
  • Oil on canvas
  • 48 × 68 cm
  • Private Collection - © Shammout Family

Ismail Shammout’s canvases have become emblematic of the Palestinian Nakba (catastrophe), the expulsion of hundreds of thousands of Arabs from Palestine after the declaration of the Israeli state in 1948. In the aftermath of dispossession, Palestinian artists and intellectuals adopted national identity as a cultural imperative. Art was mobilized to serve post-Nakba agendas of cultural and societal preservation, and Shammout responded, creating clear and emotive representations of the harsh conditions of exile, of which he had firsthand experience. In the early 1950s, Shammout’s iconic paintings of Palestinian refugees bore an intentional directness, transforming the visceral memories of 1948 into a national rallying point and demanding the attention of international communities. 

Shammout’s Beginning of the Tragedy and A Sip of Water, both from 1953, are two such paintings. Their provocative titles lend meaning to the scenes depicted, leaving little room for stray interpretations. Thick, fevered brush strokes heighten the drama, placing masses of bodies against a harsh landscape. Beginning of the Tragedy represents the initial stages of exodus where men, women, and children carry their meager belongings into an unknown future. In the lower right-hand corner, an empty pail has been upended, foreshadowing the thirst to come. In A Sip of Water, the barefoot, tattered refugees appear desperate for the last remnants of sustenance. As one man strains to hold back the thirsty crowd, a woman gulps from the container while children surround her, reaching for a sip. This scenario, fraught with displacement and doubt, still resonates today with new diasporic crises.

Tiffany Floyd

Biography of Ismail Shammout

  • Born 1930 in Lydda, Mandatory Palestine
  • Died 2006 in Amman, Jordan

Ismail Shammout was a Palestinian artist and art historian. Born in Lydda, he and his family were expelled from the city on July 12, 1948 by Israeli forces. His family settled in a refugee camp in Gaza. Shammout enrolled in the College of Fine Arts Cairo in 1950, returning to Gaza in 1953. That year Shammout held, with his brother Jamil, the first exhibition by a contemporary Palestinian artist in Palestine. The exhibition included Where to? (1953), a sobering oil-on-canvas depiction of a family in exodus. A year later, Shammout was part of the Palestine Exhibition of 1954 in Cairo, inaugurated by president Gamal Abdel Nasser. Shammout incorporated Palestinian traditions in his realist painting, which commented on the plight of Palestinians since 1948. In 1954, he enrolled at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Rome. He moved to Beirut in 1956, where he married fellow artist Tamam al-Alkal. Shammout became the Director of Arts and National Culture for the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) in 1965. In 1983, following the Israeli attack against the PLO in Lebanon, Shammout moved from Beirut to Kuwait, then Germany, and finally to Jordan.

More artworks by Ismail Shammout in the exhibition

Shammout A Sip Of Water Yadiz Shammout 1500 - © Shammout Family
Ismail Shammout
A Sip of Water, 1953
Private Collection

Ismail Shammout

Beginning of the Tragedy (Beginn der Tragödie)

Shammout Beginning Of The Tragedy Yadiz Shammout 1500 - © Shammout Family
  • Ismail Shammout
  • Beginning of the Tragedy (Beginn der Tragödie)
  • 1953
  • Öl auf Leinwand
  • 48 × 68 cm
  • Privatsammlung - © Shammout Family

Ismail Shammouts Bilder sind emblematisch für die palästinensische Nakba (Katastrophe), die Vertreibung Hunderttausender Araber aus Palästina nach der Gründung des Staates Israel im Jahr 1948. Nachdem sie ihre Heimat verloren hatten, machten palästinensische Künstler und Intellektuelle ihre nationale Identität zu einem kulturellen Imperativ. Man mobilisierte die Kunst, um im Anschluss an die Nakba den eigenen kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt zu fördern. Shammout reagierte darauf, indem er klare und emotional aufgeladene Darstellungen von den harten Lebensbedingungen des Exils schuf, die er aus erster Hand kannte. In den frühen 1950er- Jahren waren Shammouts ikonische Gemälde palästinensischer Flüchtlinge von einer bewussten Direktheit; sie verwandelten die tief sitzenden Erinnerungen von 1948 in einen nationalen Sammelpunkt und forderten das Augenmerk der internationalen Gemeinschaft. 

Shammouts Beginning of the Tragedy und A Sip of Water, beide von 1953, sind zwei solcher Gemälde. Ihre provokanten Titel verleihen den dargestellten Szenen einen Sinn und lassen kaum Raum für abwegige Interpretationen. Mit einem dichten, hektischen Pinselduktus steigert der Künstler die Dramatik und platziert die Körpermassen vor einer rauen Landschaft. Beginning of the Tragedy (Beginn der Tragödie) zeigt die Anfangsphase des Exodus, in der Männer, Frauen und Kinder ihre kärglichen Habseligkeiten in eine unbekannte Zukunft tragen. Der umgekippte leere Eimer in der Ecke unten rechts weist auf den drohenden Durst voraus. In A Sip of Water (Ein Schluck Wasser) kämpfen die barfüßigen, Lumpen tragenden Flüchtlinge verzweifelt um die letzten Lebensmittel. Während ein Mann versucht, die durstige Menge zurückzuhalten, trinkt eine Frau gierig aus einem Behälter, während die sie umgebenden Kinder selbst einen Schluck einfordern. Dieses Szenario von Vertreibung und Zweifel findet bis heute einen Widerhall in immer neuen Diasporakrisen.

Tiffany Floyd

Biografie von Ismail Shammout

  • Geboren 1930 in Lydda (heute Lod), Palästina (damals unter Völkerbundsmandat, heute Israel)
  • Gestorben 2006 in Amman, Jordanien

Ismail Schammut war ein palästinensischer Künstler und Kunsthistoriker. Am 12. Juli 1948 wurde er mit seiner Familie von israelischen Truppen aus seiner Geburtsstadt Lydda vertrieben. Sie fanden Zuflucht in einem Flüchtlingslager in Gaza. 1950 schrieb Schammut sich an der Kunsthochschule in Kairo ein, 1953 kehrte er nach Gaza zurück, wo er gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Jamil eine Ausstellung auf die Beine stellte – die erste Schau eines modernen palästinensischen Künstlers in dieser Region. Sie enthielt auch das Gemälde Where to? (1953), ein ernüchterndes Ölbild, das eine Familie auf der Flucht zeigt. Ein Jahr später nahm Schammut an einer Ausstellung palästinensischer Malerei in Kairo teil, die unter der Schirmherrschaft des ägyptischen Präsidenten Gamal Abdel Nasser stattfand. In seinen realistischen Gemälden über das Leid, das die Palästinenser seit der Staatsgründung Israels 1948 erfuhren, verarbeitete Schammut auch traditionelle Elemente der palästinensischen Kultur. 1954 immatrikulierte er sich an der Accademia di Belle Arti in Rom. 1956 ließ er sich in Beirut nieder, wo er seine Künstlerkollegin Tamam Al-Akhal heiratete. 1965 ernannte ihn die PLO zum Beauftragten für Kunst und nationale Kultur. Nach dem Ende des von Israel angezettelten Libanonkriegs zog er nach Kuwait. Jahre später ließ er sich in Deutschland und schließlich in Jordanien nieder.

Mehr Werke von Ismail Shammout in der Ausstellung

Shammout A Sip Of Water Yadiz Shammout 1500 - © Shammout Family
Ismail Shammout
A Sip of Water (Ein Schluck Wasser), 1953
Privatsammlung