Ramsès Younane

Arabesques

Younane Arabesques May Zeid Adel Youssry Khedr Collection 1500 - © Archives Ramsès Younan, Paris, France © Nabil Boutros
  • Ramsès Younane
  • Arabesques
  • 1961
  • Oil on board
  • 90 × 61 cm
  • May and Adel Youssry Khedr Collection, Cairo - © Archives Ramsès Younan, Paris, France © Nabil Boutros

Ramsés Younane experimented with calligraphic abstraction, of which Arabesques (1961) is a prime example. Throughout his career, Younane was dissatisfied with Egypt’s art establishment, which favored neoclassical academism, neglecting the important modernist movements occurring outside of Egypt. To counteract that regressive tendency, he wrote extensively about the developments of modern art, especially the transition from realism to abstraction. In an effort to kick-start Egypt’s aesthetic road to abstraction—with its implications of free expression—Younane co-founded the Art et liberté (Art and Freedom) group as an alternative to the stagnating art academies, adopting instead a Surrealist mode of unfettered artistic investigation. Younane himself was for a time an avowed Surrealist and identified with the movement’s conceptual fluctuations between external realities and subjective understandings. 

In Arabesques, Younane constructs a fantastical realm of abstract spaces and gestural ambiguities, using the calligraphic mark to carve out a surreal landscape of jagged ruins and peaks in earthen browns, opening into soft blue-green voids. The enigmatic canvas avoids specific cultural references and instead invites the viewer’s personal engagement with paint and representation. The title Arabesques references a significant motif of Islamic design, part of Egypt’s rich decorative and architectural tradition in Egypt. With this verbal cue, the artist seems to suggest that traditional Arab-Islamic forms can break free of academic limitations and can be revitalized within modernist paradigms. Arabesques, completed only five years before his death, is considered one of Younane’s mature works. His life’s work earned him the distinction of being one of Egypt’s leading proponents of expressive abstraction.

Tiffany Floyd

Biography of Ramsès Younane

  • Born 1913 in Minya, Sultanate of Egypt
  • Died 1966 in Cairo, Egypt

Ramsès Younan is recognized as one of the founders of Egyptian Surrealism. He finished his studies at the École des Beaux-Arts (School of Fine Arts) in Cairo in 1933 and became a secondary school art teacher in 1934. 

From 1939 to 1946, Younane participated in the Trotskyist group Art et Liberté. He was involved in the publication of a number of left-wing reviews, including La Part du Sable (with poet Georges Henein, 1914–1973) and al-Tatawwur—the first socialist magazine in Egypt. 

From 1942 to 1944, Younan edited Al Magalla al Gedida (All-New Magazine), the first Trotskyist bulletin published in Arabic. Younan immigrated to France after World War II, showing in the Expositions Surréalistes Internationaux (International Surrealist Exhibitions) in Paris and Prague in 1947. 

In 1948, he published a pamphlet with Henein, “Notes sur une ascèse hystérique” (Notes on a Hysterical Asceticism), critiquing elements of Surrealist practice, particularly automatism and the movement’s relationship to Marxism. He broke with the French Surrealists that same year. 

Younan translated the writings of Albert Camus, Franz Kafka and Arthur Rimbaud in Arabic. He returned to Egypt in 1956 and represented the country in the 1961 Bienal de São Paulo and the 1964 Venice Biennale.

Ramsès Younane

Arabesques (Arabesken)

Younane Arabesques May Zeid Adel Youssry Khedr Collection 1500 - © Archives Ramsès Younan, Paris, France © Nabil Boutros
  • Ramsès Younane
  • Arabesques (Arabesken)
  • 1961
  • Öl auf Holztafel
  • 90 × 61 cm
  • May and Adel Youssry Khedr Collection, Cairo - © Archives Ramsès Younan, Paris, France © Nabil Boutros

Ramsés Younane experimentierte mit der kalligrafischen Abstraktion, und Arabesques (1961) ist ein herausragendes Beispiel hierfür. Während seiner gesamten Laufbahn zeigte sich Younane mit Ägyptens künstlerischem Establishment unzufrieden, da dieses einen neoklassischen Akademismus bevorzugte und die wichtigen modernistischen Bewegungen außerhalb Ägyptens vernachlässigte. Um dieser rückschrittlichen Tendenz etwas entgegenzusetzen, verfasste er umfangreiche Texte über die Entwicklung der modernen Kunst, in denen es sich nicht zuletzt mit dem Übergang vom Realismus zur Abstraktion befasste. In dem Bemühen, Ägypten an die Abstraktion mit ihren Implikationen freien künstlerischen Ausdrucks heranzuführen, war Younane Mitbegründer der Gruppe Kunst und Freiheit, die eine Alternative zu den in sich stagnierenden Kunstakademien darstellte und sich stattdessen einer surrealistischen Form ungehemmter künstlerischer Untersuchungen befleißigte. Younane selbst verschrieb sich eine Weile ganz dem Surrealismus und identifizierte sich mit dessen konzeptuellen Schwankungen zwischen äußerer Realität und subjektivem Verständnis. 

In Arabesques konstruiert Younane ein fantastisches Reich von abstrakter und gestischer Mehrdeutigkeit und bedient sich der kalligrafischen Zeichen, um eine surreale Landschaft zerklüfteter Ruinen und Gipfel in erdigen Brauntönen herauszuarbeiten, die sich auf sanfte blaugrüne Leerräume hin öffnet. Das rätselhafte Bild vermeidet spezifische kulturelle Bezüge und lädt die Betrachter stattdessen zu einer persönlichen Auseinandersetzung mit Farbe und Repräsentation ein. Der Titel Arabesques (Arabesken) bezieht sich auf ein charakteristisches Motiv des islamischen Designs, das Teil der reichen Schmuck- und Architekturtradition Ägyptens ist. Durch diesen sprachlichen Hinweis scheint der Künstler darauf hinzudeuten, dass sich die traditionellen arabisch-islamischen Formen von akademischen Begrenzungen befreien und innerhalb modernistischer Paradigmen wiederbelebt werden kann. Arabesques, das fünf Jahre vor seinem Tod entstand, gilt als eines von Younanes Werken aus seiner Reifezeit. Sein Lebenswerk verschaffte ihm den Ruf, einer von Ägyptens führenden Vertretern der expressiven Abstraktion zu sein.

Tiffany Floyd

Biografie von Ramsès Younane

  • Geboren 1913 in Minia, Ägypten (damals Osmanisches Reich)
  • Gestorben 1966 in Ägypten

Ramsès Younane gilt als einer der Gründer des ägyptischen Surrealismus. 1933 beendete er sein Studium an der École des Beaux-Arts in Kairo; 1934 begann er an einem Gymnasium Kunst zu unterrichten. 

Von 1939 bis 1946 war er Mitglied der trotzkistischen Gruppe Art et Liberté. Er war Mitherausgeber einer Reihe von linken Zeitschriften, so z.B. La Part du Sable (zusammen mit dem Dichter Georges Henein, 1914–1973) und al-Tatawwur, dem ersten sozialistischen Magazin Ägyptens. 

Von 1942 bis 1944 war Younane Chefredakteur von Al Magalla al Gedida, der ersten arabischsprachigen trotzkistischen Zeitschrift. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg emigrierte er nach Frankreich; 1947 beteiligte er sich an den internationalen Surrealismus-Ausstellungen in Paris und Prag. 

1948 publizierte er mit Henein den Text Notes sur une ascèse hystérique, in dem er den Surrealismus punktuell kritisierte, insbesondere die Methode des Automatismus und seine Affinität zum Marxismus. Noch im selben Jahr brach er mit den französischen Surrealisten. 

Younane übersetzte Werke von Albert Camus, Franz Kafka und Arthur Rimbaud ins Arabische. 1956 kehrte er nach Ägypten zurück. Er repräsentierte sein Heimatland 1961 auf der Biennale von São Paulo und 1964 auf der Biennale von Venedig.