Ramsès Younane

  • Born 1913 in Minya, Sultanate of Egypt
  • Died 1966 in Cairo, Egypt

Ramsès Younan is recognized as one of the founders of Egyptian Surrealism. He finished his studies at the École des Beaux-Arts (School of Fine Arts) in Cairo in 1933 and became a secondary school art teacher in 1934. 

From 1939 to 1946, Younane participated in the Trotskyist group Art et Liberté. He was involved in the publication of a number of left-wing reviews, including La Part du Sable (with poet Georges Henein, 1914–1973) and al-Tatawwur—the first socialist magazine in Egypt. 

From 1942 to 1944, Younan edited Al Magalla al Gedida (All-New Magazine), the first Trotskyist bulletin published in Arabic. Younan immigrated to France after World War II, showing in the Expositions Surréalistes Internationaux (International Surrealist Exhibitions) in Paris and Prague in 1947. 

In 1948, he published a pamphlet with Henein, “Notes sur une ascèse hystérique” (Notes on a Hysterical Asceticism), critiquing elements of Surrealist practice, particularly automatism and the movement’s relationship to Marxism. He broke with the French Surrealists that same year. 

Younan translated the writings of Albert Camus, Franz Kafka and Arthur Rimbaud in Arabic. He returned to Egypt in 1956 and represented the country in the 1961 Bienal de São Paulo and the 1964 Venice Biennale.

Artworks by Ramsès Younane in the exhibition

Ramsès Younane

  • Geboren 1913 in Minia, Ägypten (damals Osmanisches Reich)
  • Gestorben 1966 in Ägypten

Ramsès Younane gilt als einer der Gründer des ägyptischen Surrealismus. 1933 beendete er sein Studium an der École des Beaux-Arts in Kairo; 1934 begann er an einem Gymnasium Kunst zu unterrichten. 

Von 1939 bis 1946 war er Mitglied der trotzkistischen Gruppe Art et Liberté. Er war Mitherausgeber einer Reihe von linken Zeitschriften, so z.B. La Part du Sable (zusammen mit dem Dichter Georges Henein, 1914–1973) und al-Tatawwur, dem ersten sozialistischen Magazin Ägyptens. 

Von 1942 bis 1944 war Younane Chefredakteur von Al Magalla al Gedida, der ersten arabischsprachigen trotzkistischen Zeitschrift. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg emigrierte er nach Frankreich; 1947 beteiligte er sich an den internationalen Surrealismus-Ausstellungen in Paris und Prag. 

1948 publizierte er mit Henein den Text Notes sur une ascèse hystérique, in dem er den Surrealismus punktuell kritisierte, insbesondere die Methode des Automatismus und seine Affinität zum Marxismus. Noch im selben Jahr brach er mit den französischen Surrealisten. 

Younane übersetzte Werke von Albert Camus, Franz Kafka und Arthur Rimbaud ins Arabische. 1956 kehrte er nach Ägypten zurück. Er repräsentierte sein Heimatland 1961 auf der Biennale von São Paulo und 1964 auf der Biennale von Venedig.

Werke von Ramsès Younane in der Ausstellung